Misguided Wonder


I made it to work on time! This was one of the first blessings of my day, since I had left home later than I should have. My day usually starts right as I walk into the clinic, but today it was different. I did not have a patient scheduled for an 8 am appointment so I had a little more time to settle down. It was the perfect opportunity to read a devotional before the hustle and bustle of the day began, so I did. There was Christmas music playing in the back ground as I quieted my heart and mind to focus on what I was reading, but soon there was a conversation on the Christmas station that captured my attention. It was an interview with Santa about who Santa really is.

Santa is an invincible man who can deliver gifts to people who do good things. Santa loves generosity.  Santa motivates children to behave well. Santa rides a fantastic sleigh. Santa is above time. Santa can deliver the most desired gifts to the whole world, in one night, and never be late.  Santa makes Christmas magical.  I knew this Santa, but for the first time in my life, this Santa shocked me!  How can we get it so wrong? 

We created him.

We created him to add magic to this season. We created him. We created him for our children.  We created him. We created him because we know the world needs a little magic to make our hearts hopeful. We created him.

We outgrew him.

We outgrew him when we went to school with that friend who chose to educate us on what was real. We outgrew him. We outgrew him when we needed to be Santa to our own kids. We outgrew him. We outgrew him when we realized we were the ones who created his magic. We outgrew him. We outgrew him and went back to our secret disillusionment with life. We outgrew him. We outgrew him but chose to keep up the illusion of hope for a season.  We outgrew him.

We are right.

This world is a broken place where heart wrenching things happen. We are right. We need something to give us hope and help us navigate.  We are right. We need something bigger than us. We are right. We need something that fills our hearts with wonder, even if just for a season. We are right.

We are wrong.

We cannot create the wonder our hearts crave. We are wrong. We never did outgrow our need for wonder. We are wrong. We do not just create illusions of wonder for the children. We are wrong.  Wonder is not just the promise make-believe characters. We are wrong. True wonder does exist. We are wrong. The Christmas season should celebrate the true character filling our hearts with wonder. We are wrong.

I hope we remember.

Remember the beautiful beginning of a newborn laying in a manger. I hope we remember. Remember His was the true light piercing the reality of our dark world. I hope we remember. Remember the God of relentless love who created a way for us to know him by sending a representation of himself to earth. I hope we remember. Remember that all our hearts yearn to be captivated by surpassing beauty, glory, and wonder. I hope we remember. Remember that a heart that worships God is a heart filled with true wonder. I hope we remember. Remember.

So as Christmas week kicks off, plan to enjoy the festivities, watch the movies, sing the songs, exchange gifts, eat way too much, and light up Rudolph on your front yard; but don’t forget the true reason for our  wonder. There is more to this season than Christmas magic, there is Christmas worship.

Therefore the Lord Himself will give you a sign: The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son , and will call him Immanuel which means God with us!  (Isaiah 7:14)

Oh come let us adore Him!

2 thoughts on “Misguided Wonder

  1. Wow! You write so well my friend.. You have a beautiful mind, really beautiful! I have enjoyed reading this..keep writing you minister in a powerful way through your writings and reflections. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

